Profile

The International Electronic Press Association (IEPA ) looks back at a history of 53 years. IEPA was instituted on March1, 2012 as a contemporary re-establishment and consolidation of the traditional “Union Internationale de la Presse Electronique founded in 1959, Ever since, it is unique as the world´s only association of international writers, authors and publishers of the electronic press. Its members in Europe and Overseas convey informations about all electronic matters to a worldwide readership.

Goals

The IEPA aims to enhance the reputation of electronic expert journalists and to promote the exchange of ideas and opinions and the flow of information between trade editors and journalists, manufacturers, institutions and authorities. Its further target is thepromotion of their image to the grand public.

Significance of IEPA

Members of IEPA address experts, seeking orientational assistance to monitor and understand new developments in order to derive knowledge and experience. The high utilization rate of the specialized trade press signifies its importance for the economy, politics and society. IEPA members possess the necessary background knowledge and competence to handle contentious issues and rectify them if necessary. The most important taks of IEPA is to maintain a continous flow of intelligence to the economy, authorities and politicians about trade press issues.

Advantages of Membership

The IEPA has access to information worldwide and can assist its members to obtain supportive material for their daily work routines. It maintains relationships to enterprises, organizers and authorities to assist members in contacting them for accredition or other advantages. On the other hand, industries and authorities will be able to find appropriate writers for their jobs. Hence, the offer of an becoming an institutional member is an added advantage of UIPRE.

Services of IEPA

The IEPA is forming a network of electronic trade journalists worldwide. Its members receive:

  • the internationally recognized IEA press card
  • the “Bulletin”, an Online information tool enabling networking between members and obtaining news about changes and new developments.
  • Informational meetings and personal contacts on major trade fairs.

Categories of Membership

The IEPA knows the “active”  and the “institutional”  membership. Active membership status can be obtained by electronic trade journalists, editors, authors and publishers actively and certifiably engaged in this business- Institutional membership status can be obtained by manufacturers, companies, authorities, chambers, publishing companies, news agencies and all entities friendly to the electronics trade. These institutions must name an executive person to represent them at IEPA.

Ethic Policies

IEPA members are committed to their readers and avoid every alliance of their work with advertising, public relations or other profit seeking endavours. Special emphasis is stressed to the observance of copy rights in order to prevent unauthorized assumption of other sources.

How to become a Member

Admission as a member requires to complete an application form, available from the president or any other board member, including a proof of proficiency. This proof can consist of copies or hyperlinks to at least four related stories, bearing the by-line of the applicant and published during the last six months. Alternatively, the candidate may name two members of IEPA as his guarantors.

A short resume of the candidate including his photo will be published in the “Bulletin” , and in case there is no objection from the side of members, he will be admitted at least within eight weeks.

Cost of Membership

The amount of the annual membership fee is calculated on the base of covering operational costs only in order to keep the individual burden reasonable. As per 2012, it is 100 EUR per year for active members and 250 EUR for institutional members.

Das Profil    

2012 entstand die IEPA aus den Reihen der 1959 von europäischen Fachjournalisten gegründeten "Union Internationale de la Presse Electronique" und ist heute immer noch einzigartig. Ihre Mitglieder vermitteln weltweit Millionen Lesern aktuelle Informationen aus allen Bereichen der Elektronik und erweitern deren Wissensbasis. Der IEPA gehören derzeit Mitglieder aus der ganzen Welt an.

Die Ziele

Die IEPA will das Ansehen der Fachjournalisten erhöhen, die Kontakte zwischen den Mitgliedern fördern, den Meinungs- und Gedankenaustausch erleichtern, den Informationsfluss zwischen Fachredakteuren und -Journalisten, Herstellern, Institutionen und Behörden fördern, bei beruflichen Problemen beraten, gemeinsame Interessen nach aussen vertreten und das Image der Fachpresse in der Öffentlichkeit allgemein verbessern.

Bedeutung der IEPA

IEPA-Mitglieder sprechen Fachleute an, die in der Fachpresse Orientierungshilfen suchen, um neue Entwicklungen jeder Art kennenzulernen und zu verstehen um daraus Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen zu gewinnen. Die hohe Nutzungshäufigkeit der Fachpresse verdeutlicht ihre Bedeutung für Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft. IEPA-Mitglieder haben das nötige Hintergrundwissen und die Kompetenz, klare Sachaussagen vorzulegen und falsche Darlegungen richtig zu stellen. Ständige Aufklärung der Wirtschaft, Behörden und Politiker über das Anliegen der Fachpresse ist eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben der IEPA.

Vorteile der Mitgliedschaft

Die IEPA hat Zugriffsmöglichkeiten auf Informationen aus aller Welt und stellt ihren Mitgliedern ein grosses Spektrum an zusätzlichen Material für die tägliche Arbeit zur Verfügung. Beste Beziehungen zu entsprechenden Unternehmen, Veranstaltern und Behörden können schnelle Verbindungen schaffen oder den Zugriff auf Vergünstigungen und Sonderkonditionen öffnen. Umgekehrt finden Auftraggeber für spezielle Arbeiten unter den Mitgliedern den geeigneten Partner. Die Mittlerrolle der IEPA lässt sich durch die Fördernde Mitgliedschaft besonders wirksam nutzen.               

Leistungen der IEPA

Die IEPA ist ein sicheres Bindeglied zwischen den Elektronikfachjournalisten weltweit. Ihre Mitglieder erhalten:

  • den international anerkannten IEPA-Presseausweis.
  • jährlich mehrmals ein Informationsbulletin, das über wichtige Veränderungen ihrer Mitglieder, deren Wirkungsbereiche und über wichtige Termine informiert.
  • Informations- und Kontaktmöglichkeiten auf internationalen Messen und Kongressen.

Arten der Mitgliedschaft

Die IEPA kennt die aktive und die Institutionelle Mitgliedschaft. "Aktives Mitglied" können Fachjournalisten und Fachredakteure werden, wenn sie regelmässig über elektronische Fachgebiete berichten. "Institutionelles Mitglied" kann jede natürliche Person werden, die für ein Unternehmen oder einen Pressedienst ein Elektronik-Sachgebiete betreut, in einem Fachverlag tätig ist, und sich für die Elektronik-Fachpresse einsetzt. Juristische Personen, wie Firmen und Institutionen haben die Möglichkeit, sich durch eine natürliche Person vertreten zu lassen.            

Ethische Grundsätze     

IEPA-Mitglieder sind ihren Lesern verpflichtet und vermeiden jegliche Verknüpfung ihrer Tätigkeit mit Werbung und sonstigen wirtschaftlichen Belangen. In ihren Beiträgen findet ausschliesslich die persönliche Uberzeugung des Verfassers ihren Niederschlag. Besonders gross wird bei IEPA-Mitglieder der Urheberschutz geschrieben, um unerlaubte Übernahmen anderer Quellen grundsätzlich auszuschliessen.       

Wie wird man Mitglied ?

Mitglied wird man auf Antrag. Das Aufnahmeformular kann beim Präsidenten oder einem der Vorstandsmitglieder angefordert werden. Zu erbringen ist ein Nachweis über vier namentlich gekennzeichnete Beiträge, die innerhalb der letzten sechs Monate veröffentlich wurden. Ersatzweise können zwei Bürgen aus dem Kreise der IEPA-Mitglieder genannt werden. Die Bewerber werden im Bulletin als Kandidaten vorgestellt und, sofern aus Mitgliederkreisen kein Einspruch erfolgt, nach spätestens 8 Wochen aufgenommen. Für Fördernde Mitglieder gibt es ein vereinfachtes Aufnahmeverfahren.

Kosten der Mitgliedschaft

Die jährlichen Kosten der Mitgliedschaft sind gering. Sie werden von der Generalversammlung alle zwei Jahre neu festgelegt und betragen ab 2012 für Aktive Mitglieder 100€ und für Institutionelle Mitglieder 250€. Senioren bezahlen 50€.

Sitz der IEPA

Der Sitz der IEPA ist Habsburg/ Schweiz