Profile

The International Electronic Press Association (IEPA ) looks back at a history of 53 years. IEPA was instituted on March1, 2012 as a contemporary re-establishment and consolidation of the traditional “Union Internationale de la Presse Electronique founded in 1959, Ever since, it is unique as the world´s only association of international writers, authors and publishers of the electronic press. Its members in Europe and Overseas convey informations about all electronic matters to a worldwide readership.

Goals

The IEPA aims to enhance the reputation of electronic expert journalists and to promote the exchange of ideas and opinions and the flow of information between trade editors and journalists, manufacturers, institutions and authorities. Its further target is thepromotion of their image to the grand public.

Significance of IEPA

Members of IEPA address experts, seeking orientational assistance to monitor and understand new developments in order to derive knowledge and experience. The high utilization rate of the specialized trade press signifies its importance for the economy, politics and society. IEPA members possess the necessary background knowledge and competence to handle contentious issues and rectify them if necessary. The most important taks of IEPA is to maintain a continous flow of intelligence to the economy, authorities and politicians about trade press issues.

Advantages of Membership

The IEPA has access to information worldwide and can assist its members to obtain supportive material for their daily work routines. It maintains relationships to enterprises, organizers and authorities to assist members in contacting them for accredition or other advantages. On the other hand, industries and authorities will be able to find appropriate writers for their jobs. Hence, the offer of an becoming an institutional member is an added advantage of UIPRE.

Services of IEPA

The IEPA is forming a network of electronic trade journalists worldwide. Its members receive:

  • the internationally recognized IEA press card
  • the “Bulletin”, an Online information tool enabling networking between members and obtaining news about changes and new developments.
  • Informational meetings and personal contacts on major trade fairs.

Categories of Membership

The IEPA knows the “active”  and the “institutional”  membership. Active membership status can be obtained by electronic trade journalists, editors, authors and publishers actively and certifiably engaged in this business- Institutional membership status can be obtained by manufacturers, companies, authorities, chambers, publishing companies, news agencies and all entities friendly to the electronics trade. These institutions must name an executive person to represent them at IEPA.

Ethic Policies

IEPA members are committed to their readers and avoid every alliance of their work with advertising, public relations or other profit seeking endavours. Special emphasis is stressed to the observance of copy rights in order to prevent unauthorized assumption of other sources.

How to become a Member

Admission as a member requires to complete an application form, available from the president or any other board member, including a proof of proficiency. This proof can consist of copies or hyperlinks to at least four related stories, bearing the by-line of the applicant and published during the last six months. Alternatively, the candidate may name two members of IEPA as his guarantors.

A short resume of the candidate including his photo will be published in the “Bulletin” , and in case there is no objection from the side of members, he will be admitted at least within eight weeks.

Cost of Membership

The amount of the annual membership fee is calculated on the base of covering operational costs only in order to keep the individual burden reasonable. As per 2012, it is 100 EUR per year for active members and 250 EUR for institutional members.

Profil

En 2012, l'IEPA est issue des rangs de l' "Union Internationale de la Presse Electronique", fondée en 1959 par des journalistes spécialisés européens. Elle est aujourd'hui encore unique en son genre. Ses membres transmettent des informations d'actualité touchant tous les domaines de l'électronique à des millions de lecteurs dans le monde entier, contribuant ainsi à l'approfondissement de leurs connaissances de base. Actuellement,  l'IEPA compte des membres dans le monde entier.

Objectifs

L'IEPA veut améliorer la reconnaissance des journalistes spécialisés, promouvoir les contacts entre les membres, faciliter l'échange d'idées et d'opinions, promouvoir le flux d'informations entre les rédacteurs et les journalistes spécialisés, entre les fabricants, les institutions, les administrations et les autorités. Elle veut également agir en conseillère dans le domaine des problèmes professionnels et améliorer de manière générale l'image de la presse spécialisée auprès du public.

Importance de l'IEPA

Les membres de l'IEPA s'adressent à des spécialistes qui recherchent dans la presse spécialisée des points de repère pour prendre connaissance des nouveaux développements de tous genres et les comprendre, afin d'en tirer des connaissances et de l'expérience. Le haut degré d'utilisation de la presse spécialisée en confirme l'importance pour l'économie, la politique et la société. Les membres de l'IEPA ont le savoir de base nécessaire pour présenter des documents factuels et rectifier les exposés erronés. L'information permanente de l'économie, des autorités et des politiciens concernant les souhaits de la presse spécialisée est également une des tâches les plus importantes de l'IEPA.

Avantages pour les membres

L'IEPA a des possibilités d'accès à des informations dans le monde entier et met à la disposition de ses membres un large spectre de matériel complémentaire pour leur activité quotidienne. De meilleures relations avec les entreprises, les organisateurs et les autorités peuvent créer des relations rapides, voire ouvrir l'accès à des avantages ou des conditions particulières. A l'inverse, les commettants trouvent parmi les membres des partenaires compétents pour leurs travaux spéciaux. Le rôle de médiateur de l'IEPA peut être mis à profit de manière efficace grâce aux membres promoteurs.

Prestations de l'IEPA

L'IEPA constitue un lien sûr entre les journalistes de l'électronique du monde entier. Ses membres reçoivent:

  • la carte de presse de l'IEPA reconnue internationalement
  • un Bulletin d'information paraissant plusieurs fois par an et renseignant sur les modifications importantes concernant les membres, leur domaine d'activité et les délais importants
  • des possibilités d'information et de contacts à l'occasion des foires et congrès internationaux.

Catégories d'affiliation

L'IEPA connaît deux catégories d'affiliation. Peuvent devenir "Membres actifs" des journalistes ou rédacteurs spécialisés qui rapportent régulièrement sur des sujets du domaine spécialisé de l'électronique. Peut devenir un "Membre institutionnel" toute personne physique qui est responsable d'un domaine de l'électronique dans une entreprise, un service de presse, une maison d'édition spécialisée et qui s'engage pour la presse spécialisée du domaine de l'électronique.

Les personnes morales, telles que les maisons ou institutions ont la possibilité de se faire représenter par une personne physique.

Règles d'éthique

Les membres de l'IEPA sont redevables à leurs lecteurs d'une information objective. Ils doivent éviter toute liaison de leur travail avec de la publicité ou toute autre activité commerciale. Leurs contributions ne doivent refléter exclusivement que la conviction personnelle des auteurs. Pour éviter la reprise illégale de certaines sources, les membres de l'IEPA attachent une grande importance à la protection des droits d'auteur.

Comment devenir membre

On devient membre sur demande. La formule d'inscription peut être obtenue auprès du président ou d'un membre du comité. Il y a lieu d'y joindre la preuve de quatre contributions publiées sous son nom par le candidat au cours des six derniers mois. Ces contributions peuvent être remplacées par le parrainage de deux membres de l'IEPA. Les candidats sont présentés dans le Bulletin et si aucune opposition n'est prononcée par les membres, l'admission a lieu au plus tard huit semaines après le dépôt de la demande. Pour les membres institutionnels, la procédure est simplifiée.

Coûts de l'affiliation

Les cotisations ne sont pas élevées. Elles sont fixées tous les deux ans par l'Assemblée générale. A partir de 2012, elles se montent à 100€ pour les membres actifs et 250€ pour les membres institutionnels. Les membres séniors paient 50€

Siège de l'IEPA

Le siège de l'IEPA est à Habsbourg/Suisse.